Toronto and GTA riding election results

The Liberals won 21 of Toronto's 24 seats and 17 of the 20 seats in the crucial 9-0-5 belt.

There were some big changes in the GTA on election night.

The Liberals won 21 of Toronto's 24 seats and 17 of the 20 seats in the crucial 9-0-5 belt.

In Beaches-East York, the NDP's Michael Prue (first elected there 13 years ago) was defeated by Liberal Arthur Potts.

Another big shift in Trinity-Spadina, where the NDP's Rosario Marchese (who held the riding since 1990) lost to newcomer Liberal Han Dong.

Two former Toronto city councillors battled it out in the riding of Etobicoke-Lakeshore, but PC Candidate Doug Holyday will give up his seat to Liberal Peter Milcyzn.

** You can see all the night's winners in our interactive map by clicking here. **

The riding of Davenport turns red, after the NDP's Jonah Schein was defeated by Cristina Martins.

in Etobicoke-Centre, former Mayor Rob Ford staffer Pina Martino had hoped to turn the riding into a PC hold, but Liberal Yvan Baker got the victory.

The Liberals retained their seats in the ridings of York Centre, York-West and York South-Weston. That was also the case with Don Valley West (which is Kathleen Wynne's riding) and Don Valley East.

In the Bramalea-Gore-Malton riding, the NDP's Jagmeet Singh held on to his seat.

In Newmarket-Aurora, local Liberal councillor Chris Ballard defeated Conservative Jane Twinney.

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Log in and be the first to comment!

Sign Up For Breaking News Alerts

Becoming a member only takes 60 seconds! Members get access to exclusive information and products that non-members do not, including concert ticket presales, trips, advance notice on upcoming entertainment events, movie screening passes, music giveaways and more!

Login with Facebook

Stay connected 24/7! Receive breaking news and programming alerts right to your inbox. CLICK HERE to sign-up.

Today's Poll

Did you take part in Earth Hour on Saturday night?

Voting is restricted to one vote every 24 hour(s) VoteResults

Top Stories